West Central & South West Region – Regional Convenor Liam Boylan

What do your stewards do?

Workplace stewards are the heart of our trade union. UNISON’s stewards are the reason we win campaigns that result in better lives for our members and all working people. Stewards help to organise your colleagues into an effective, strong and welcoming membership. They:

  • Are the first point of contact for members in a workplace
  • Talk to members about the union
  • Talk to staff about their issues
  • Offer advice on issues at work
  • Represent members in cases (including at disciplinary and grievance hearings).
  • Campaign for better working conditions
  • Recruit and organise new members
  • Encourage more members to get active in UNISON
  • Raise your members’ issues with the branch.

Stewards in workplaces where UNISON is recognised by the employer have rights to time off for training and to carry out their work. Stewards have a right to be involved in how their branch is run and are the most important link between the members and the union. UNISON aims to have at least one steward in each workplace and department, more in larger departments and where members work shifts. Stewards are elected each year by the group of members that they represent and the post is open to job share.

Aileen McLaren         
Workplace: Law
Role: Steward / Health & Safety Rep
Phone: 07900 817076
Email: aileen.mclaren2@nhs.scot


Brian Forbes
Workplace: Johnstone
Role: Steward
Phone: 07595 224354
Email: brian.forbes@nhs.scot


Gary Henry
Workplace: Helensburgh
Role: Steward
Phone: 07900170403
Email: gary.henry@nhs.scot


Kevin Stewart
Workplace: Douglas
Role: Steward
Phone: 07766 130328
Email: kevin.stewart1@nhs.scot


Martin Jefferies
Workplace:  Clydebank
Role: Health & Safety Rep
Phone: 07801 598746
Email: martin.jefferies@nhs.scot


Steven Gilroy
Workplace: Cumnock
Role: Steward / Health & Safety Rep
Phone: 07881 356392
Email: steven.gilroy@nhs.scot

Andrew Robertson
Workplace: Cardonald
Role: Steward
Phone: 07542 918211
Email: andrew.robertson14@nhs.scot


Cheryl Pyott
Workplace: Springburn
Role: Steward
Phone: 07528 050975
Email: cheryl.pyott@nhs.scot


Gavin Boa
Workplace: Paisley
Role: Steward
Phone:  07588 767006
Email:  gavin.boa@nhs.scot


Liam Boylan
Workplace:  Clydebank
Role:  Steward
Phone:  07735 272619
Email:  liamjoseph.boylan@nhs.scot


Paul Malner
Workplace: Annan
Role: Steward
Phone: 07519 714651
Email:  pauljames.malner@nhs.scot

Andrew Smith
Workplace: Cumbernauld
Role: Steward / Health & Safety Rep
Phone: 07522 959559
Email: andrew.smith81@nhs.scot


Emma Campbell
Workplace: Lamlash
Role: Steward
Phone: 07981 025352
Email: emmadawn.campbell@nhs.scot


Jacqueline Hughes
Workplace:  East Kilbride
Role: Steward
Phone: 07584 906370
Email:  jacqueline.hughes@nhs.scot


Marc Greenland
Workplace:  Dumfries
Role:  Steward
Phone:  07564 282950
Email: marcdavid.greenland@nhs.scot


Ryan Cameron
Workplace: Johnstone
Role: Steward
Phone:  07449 178772
Email:
ryan.cameron2@nhs.scot

No steward in your area? Become one today!