East Central & South East Region – Regional Convenor Gillian Somerville

What do your stewards do?

Workplace stewards are the heart of our trade union. UNISON’s stewards are the reason we win campaigns that result in better lives for our members and all working people. Stewards help to organise your colleagues into an effective, strong and welcoming membership. They:

  • Are the first point of contact for members in a workplace
  • Talk to members about the union
  • Talk to staff about their issues
  • Offer advice on issues at work
  • Represent members in cases (including at disciplinary and grievance hearings).
  • Campaign for better working conditions
  • Recruit and organise new members
  • Encourage more members to get active in UNISON
  • Raise your members’ issues with the branch.

Stewards in workplaces where UNISON is recognised by the employer have rights to time off for training and to carry out their work. Stewards have a right to be involved in how their branch is run and are the most important link between the members and the union. UNISON aims to have at least one steward in each workplace and department, more in larger departments and where members work shifts. Stewards are elected each year by the group of members that they represent and the post is open to job share.

Carole Black         
Workplace: Livingstone
Role: Steward
Phone: 07960 840722
Email: caroleelizabeth.black@nhs.scot

 

Simon Glenn
Workplace: Sauchie
Role: Steward / Health & Safety Rep
Phone: 07919 081148
Email: simon.glenn@nhs.scot

 

William Johnstone
Workplace: Prestonpans
Role: Steward
Phone: 07900 291047
Email: william.johnstone3@nhs.scot

 

Mark Neil
Workplace: Melrose
Role: Steward
Phone: 07590 399939
Email: markthomline.neil@nhs.scot


Clem Price
Workplace: Melrose
Role: Steward
Phone: 07724 056896
Email: clementthomas.price@nhs.scot


Gillian Somerville
Workplace: Leven
Role: Steward / Health & Safety Rep
Phone: 07776 234730
Email: gillian.somerville3@nhs.scot

Paul Coyle
Workplace: Livingston
Role: Steward
Phone: 07712 572794
Email: paul.coyle@nhs.scot

 

Derek Hitchcock
Workplace: Kirkcaldy
Role: Steward
Phone: 07999 515831
Email: derek.hitchcock@nhs.scot

 

Angela Kay
Workplace: Dunfermline
Role: Steward
Phone: 07787 540484
Email: angela.kay@nhs.scot

 

Mike Newins
Workplace: Melrose
Role: Steward
Phone: 01896 823958
Email: mike.newins2@nhs.scot


Richard Proctor
Workplace: Grangemouth
Role: Steward
Phone: 07894 268602
Email:  richardwilliam.proctor@nhs.scot

Sam Craig
Workplace: Falkirk
Role: Steward
Phone: 07515 651982
Email: sam.craig2@nhs.scot

 

Matthew Hooks
Workplace: Norseman House
Role: Steward
Phone: 07814 074351
Email: matthew.hooks@nhs.scot

 

Sharon Lygate
Workplace: Perth
Role: Steward
Phone: 07752 797957
Email: sharon.lygate@nhs.scot

 

Andrea Penman
Workplace: Falkirk
Role: Steward
Phone: 07917 052615
Email: andrea.penman@nhs.scot


Clare Russell
Workplace: Johnstone
Role: Steward / Health & Safety Rep
Phone: 0131 242 2673
Email: clare.russell16@nhs.scot

No steward in your area? Become one today!